RSS

On Being Bootiful

03 Aug

Today I ponder what it is to be “bootiful”.  My 3 year old is really obsessed with the whole Princess thing.  Dresses must twirl, shoes must sparkle, crowns and ribbons must be worn at all times.  Oh and she has to hold her skirt out (even her nightgown) when she walks – “because dat what princesses do Mommy”.

But my princess wears glasses and she is the only one in her class of 20 with glasses.    Today’s meltdown started because “Mommy I not berry bootiful.  I don’t want wear my glasses because they make me not berry bootiful”.  What to say?   Stirring up all kinds of feelings in me:

#1. You are 3, why are you worried about this?

#2. Angry at Disney because you would think in this progressive society one of their Princesses could wear GLASSES.  But if they ever do have a kid with glasses in a Disney movie, she is always the nerd.

Sidebar: And how about a Princess who has a larger than 18 inch waist – lets put that on the roster.

#3. I paid almost 400.00 for your glasses; you will be wearing them.

#4. Also realizing that without those glasses my little one is a true beauty – the frames just don’t allow you to see all of her “booty” (of course I will never tell her that).

And then I try to think of “beauties” who wear glasses:

  • Um… Nancy Drew (she wore glasses right)
  • Lois Lane – I mean she got Superman.

Okay how about a celebrity character AFTER 1970…

Wait…. Princess Diaries – yea Anne Hathaway had glasses in that movie – but CRAP, then they made her a princess and she had to get contacts.

So I don’t know what to say or do here.

I tried the “beauty on the inside” and “you are so beautiful to me” but the tears led the way to school.

So now I feel sad and really didn’t think “beauty” discussions would happen at 3 ½.   Maybe a new TuTu would help?  Welcoming parental enlightenment on this critical beauty matter.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “On Being Bootiful

  1. Jaidene

    August 4, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    That is such a hard one for sure! Oh it breaks my heart that little Landon doesn’t think she’s bootiful. I find her to be one of the MOST boottiful girls I know! She makes me laugh, she has beautiful hair, eyes, cheeks, smile…Omg what isn’t bootiful about that little girl!? Her dresses, her sense of style, her charm….YOU JUST READ HER THIS E-MAIL. She is nothing but BOOTIFUL!

     
  2. Swati

    August 4, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Ok buy her a pony. You have no choice.

    Kidding – I totally agree – it’s amazing what messages get through to kids that have nothing to do with us or what we try to overtly communicate – and kind of scary. My daughter and I have had tons of discussions about being bootiful on the inside and letting your inner light shine out on the world. But it’s not easy. At 4, my daughter wanted to know why people called some women “hot”. I hated that moment.

    Swati

     
  3. Swati

    August 4, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Ok buy her a pony. You have no choice.

    Kidding – I totally agree – it’s amazing what messages get through to kids that have nothing to do with us or what we try to overtly communicate – and kind of scary. My daughter and I have had tons of discussions about being bootiful on the inside and letting your inner light shine out on the world. But it’s not easy. At 4, my daughter wanted to know why people called some women “hot”. I hated that moment.

    Swati Bharteey

     
    • kellyozley

      August 4, 2010 at 6:31 pm

      HOT? At 4. I have to say at my age I would like being called Hot – but it could also mean a flash of sorts. 🙂

       
  4. Carol Kingsley

    August 5, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Dear Ms. Landon,

    The current princess fashion includes glasses. Have your Mom go to the following website: http://www.theinsider.com/photos/1996810_Jaime_Pressly?&ppager=2&c_id=1996807&c_type=galleries

    I found it when I googled “glasses wearing celebrities”. There are many photographs of movie star princeses wearing glasses. It really is an “IN” thing to wear glasses. Your Mom can bring up the website and show you.

    I Love you Landon and you are bootiful when you wear your glasses.

     

Leave a Reply

 
