RSS

Exhibit A

11 Aug

Tonight’s adventure began with a bit of a fright. I was feeding our cat Clyde. That may seem like a quick little trick but…. when you are a 24 pound cat….. well feeding you is …involved.

 So I feed the cat and there is a scuffle, a bit of a hustle, a slide as far as I can tell, and then….

a scream of gargantuan proportion.

 Sprinting up the stairs (good thing I am still in  my yoga pants – LONG LIVE THE YOGA PANT).   I land on the first floor to find Tennyson absolutely frantic…

arms waving

SCREAMING

crying, with that pretty much constant snot drip

 (I sincerely hope that stops by the time she is 16 – Prom will totally suck if it doesn’t).

 Then I notice her head is bleeding. 

 “LANDON!”  

“Mommy it was acc’dent.  ” 

My ASS!

 OMG OMG – She hit her head and split it open. OMG OMG

 Hey wait…..

 OK as I get closer and examine the sister inflicted wound

 it is a sort of odd shade of red …

  really almost fuchsia. 

 Hmm…

 It is actually not blood, no indeed…..

             It is Hot Pink Marker in a perfect circle (will give her that – A+ on geometry).  Landon has colored her sister’s head with a marker.

 All I do is look at her

            “Mommy…. Twas an acc’dent”

 Why

                        Why

                                                 Why

 There is no answer to this question.  I have figured out one thing – 3 ½ year olds are not logical.  Their sole purpose in life is to make you crazy  — I really think they sit around thinking about how to screw with your psyche. 

 Seriously… I got nothing here.  I used to be so witty.  But I was sleeping a full 6 1/2 to 7 hours (uninterrupted) then.

 “Landon…. Landon….. Landon…. So help me …. One day you … you … you are going to want a car… and you know what… I….I….. I am not gonna get you one”

            What!  This makes no sense …even to me and I said it.

 “But Mommy…. you has a car and I little”

 Pivot….turn….Storming out – DAMNIT ….. I just want the last word….

“WHATEVER”

Exhibit A

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Exhibit A

  1. Marge Roate

    August 12, 2010 at 6:13 am

    Hey…be careful what you wish for! You do want your children to be successful, right? SO….if a 3 1/2 year old’s purpose is to make your crazy…..humn.m.n. Seems to be working, huh? Just remember, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger! Really! Just imagine it now….so strong and so crazy! Love ya, Aunt Margie

     
  2. Kristin

    August 12, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    Another exciting day! Love to read about it:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
