RSS

Yanni

25 Sep

Today kinda sucked…

I won’t lie.

This is why. 

4:30 a.m. Tennyson screaming her head off. 

4:30 a.m. is a ridiculous time to be up unless you are a cowpoke or the morning anchor.

I am exhausted…

Did not sleep well…

Her screaming has awakened the other cherub

(I am saying cherub but really thinking terrorist)

 Landon –  “I wan get up”

 “MOMMEEEE I need see a movie”

 Tenny screaming random sequences

 “arrr…uuuuhhh…..rahhhh…mama….laadooooon(her sister)”

 

I am dying…

I ignore it for about 26 minues…

4:56 a.m. I can take no more…

I succumb to the dueling screams.

“Mommy… wants eggs”

  I have three dozen eggs in the fridge in the garage…not even a yolk in the house.

 

It is 5:03 a.m.  I LOVE my life…right? 

To get the eggs I must first pass the sprinkler system…

Which of course is on zone 3… the backyard zone….

I am brave and figure that the “spritz” will help wake me up…

It’s like a minefield…

 

I…

Cannot..

Dodge…

The…

Spraying…

Bullets…

 

Safe within the garage, I grab the damn eggs and plan my return…

 

Again I am hit from every angle…

 

Knees, feet, thighs…

 

Soaked! 

 

I look like I have been fly fishing and caught only…

eggs.

 

Wading in the door, Landon says “Mommy what happened a you?”

 Life Honey.

 

Okay so eggs are made… its 5:49 a.m.

Dora is on AGAIN…

 I swear that chick must have one helluva contract…

she is on about 18 times a day.

What do I do for the next 3 ½ hours… when everyone else is up.

 I am walking around in a Laura Ingalls inspired nightgown with hiking socks…

because they are clean…

and I could find them.

 

It is a 9:15.  I suggest a team nap…in my bed… with the 3 of us…

Yes I know it was stupid…

NOW

 

We lie down…

with the Denver morning sun ripping through my curtains to burn a hole in my cornea. 

Not exactly creating a good “napping” environment.  

I just felt this would be a way to encourage the girls to sleep and be sort of family time too…

In the midst of the solar eclipse occurring right here in my bedroom.

 

We are all just about asleep…

I hear it…

The door…

Damn the cat…

Clooney is coming in for some mischief.

And the door …

Manufactured in 1928…

Alerts us with every centimeter of movement.

 

Up again…

Seriously…. I HAVE GOT TO GET AT LEAST 20 MINUTES HERE.

Not to mention that Clooney has now landed dead center of the bed which causes an all out petting frenzy with two toddlers.

ACCKKKKK!

At my wit’s end…

Through a calming voice, 38 rounds of Twinkle Twinkle and prayers, we are ALL asleep.

It is a MIRACLE (like PAM and Downy Wrinkle Releaser)

I last maybe 30 minutes.  Thinking about all the tasks at hand has me stressed so I get up….

I am in a state of euphoria as the girls are asleep. 

 I decide that I will listen to some nice music as I get myself together in the quiet. 

Think Yanni’esque music…

only not Yanni…

because that is really not cool.

And if it was Yanni, I would CERTAINLY not admit it. 

I mean really only Linda Evans actually listens to him now, right?

 

The fatal mistake…

            Turning on the stereo…

Normally it would be fine, but…

One of the little sprites has apparently been messing with the stereo…

Because get this!

When I turn it on the house vibrates…

The car across the street vibrates…

It is SOOOO loud… I think the police will arrive for disturbance of the peace. 

Covering my ears and sprinting to the stereo like a greyhound in his prime,

I see that SOMEONE had turned the stereo dial to 30,

its maximum possible volume. 

 

Off entirely with one press of a button. 

Ahh…

 

Quiet…

 

or is it…

 

The stereo silence has revealed…

 

The cries of two toddlers….

 

Really…

 

I think Yanni at a volume of 30 was a more pleasant sound.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 25, 2010 in Twinkle Twinkle, Yanni

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
