RSS

Toddlers Traveling…It’s Just Scary

26 Oct

More on  recent traveling nightmare…

So remembering I have both children  on this trip…

By myself..

We had a lot of stuff…

I mean a lot.

On our return trip, a friend and colleague of mine (Katy) was on the same flight.

It was easier for me…

It has permanently scarred her.

So we get to the airport…

Katy is watching me unload the clown car.

I just keep unloading while she watches the kids…

I can see her processing all of this…

Wondering how in the hell we are going to get all of this in the terminal…

Further wondering how I managed to get it all here in the first place.

It’s chaotic but we make it…

On the train we are…

Katy has the stroller and associated child

Her suitcase…

And her Prada bag.  (she has no children…  I am reusing my Macy’s bags)

She is in a near Chinese split with one arm around the stroller and the other hand braced against a support bar.

She is perspiring a bit I think.

I am beyond sweating… just a puddle of drip.

Inside and checked in.

Now to security.

I guess I am used to this chaos, but, I can see Katy is visibly shaken.

She is not happy that we seem to be in the additional security line…

And she hates to take out her lipgloss collection for screening.

 

Astounded at this I am…

Because…

I have…

One laptop
One DVD player
One child’s computer
One bag of applesauce and yogurt so the children do not perish on the flight.
A bag of medicine and Benadry
Hairspray and assorted toiletries of my own…
Three sets of shoes to remove…

Oh yeah… and 2 kids.

We make it through and Katy glances back as I hand Landon her lollipop off the security floor.

“I don’t…

see how…

you…

do it.”

She is able to get out only about 2 words at a time now as she is out of breath from the flurry of TSA activity…

I really think she may need oxygen.

We have time for a bite to eat.  She recommends ice cream…

Katy has no children…

Did I mention that?

She has no children, so she suggested ice cream OUT LOUD in the airport.

I have to get it now..

The words are out there and 3 ½ year olds live for that kind of slip up.

Ice creams in hand… we stroll on for some form of nourishment for the grownups (or as I like to call it… booze).

God in his infinite wisdom has placed a bar/restaurant directly across from our gate.  Hallelujah.

There are so many chairs and table in there that I can hardly get the stroller through (and this is one of those skinny little cheap ones).

The people are scared too…

I see lots of hand up all of a sudden…

for their checks…

hmm…

wonder if that has anything to do with our arrival.

I order something safe and non-messy… a cheese and cracker plate…

And of course wine.

While we wait, Landon somehow winds her ice cream cone across the back of my neighbor’s pin-striped suit.  OMG.  How?  I have no idea.

What did he say?

Well…

I don’t know…

I am not stupid…

I didn’t tell him.

The waiter arrives with the cheese plate.  80 cubes of assorted cheeses… 2 packs of club crackers.

2

Only 2

“Um sir… can we get some more crackers…these kids NEED crackers”

Who does not know that?

It’s kids…

And it’s a cheese and cracker plate…

Not a cheese and cheese plate.

I am going to seize this moment to go to the bathroom.  I trust Katy can keep these two Tazmanian devils under control for 5 minutes.

She is scared again.

I will give her careful instructions on the care and management of this clan for my brief departure.

“Katy…

whatever you do…

do not let them take my wine”

 

And then I went to pee.

 

OMG -- it's us at the airport.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2010 in Toddler, Travel

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Toddlers Traveling…It’s Just Scary

  1. iphone handyvertrag

    November 17, 2010 at 5:52 am

    Simply discovered your web page through google and I consider this can be a disgrace that you are not ranked upper due to the fact that that is a fantastic post. To switch this I determined to avoid wasting your web site to my RSS reader and I will try to point out you in one of my posts since you actually deserv extra readers when publishing content material of this quality.

     
    • kellyozley

      November 29, 2010 at 8:31 pm

      Wow Thank you! I appreciate it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
