RSS

You talkin’ to me?

08 Nov

My almost four-year old is very clever or conniving.

Me?  Not really so much any more.

Over breakfast on Friday, I looked loving at my little one…

thinking how pretty she looked with her little bangs framing her face…

And then…

slowing down…

sipping my tea…

looking again…

I realize…

that last night…

she did not have bangs.

Am I in a morning fog?

How can this be?

“Landon?”

“Hi Mommy”

“Landon?  Did you cut your hair?”

Looking at me she is …

as if to say…

you talking to me?     Paging Mr. Di Nero….

Wheels churning for a  way out…

Looking at me…

then not…

Spying her sister…

noodling on how she can make this her fault.

“Landon did you cut your hair?”

“Mommy…

now Mommy …”

Yes…

“Was just too much hair Mommy”

And in my not so calm I am LOSING it tone:

“WHY?”

“What would make you do that?”

“I cannot believe you did that.”

“what were you thinking?”

“Mommy…

I know you be so irritating…

but it going to be otay”

What?

I have no comeback…

What do I say to this?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2010 in Misbehaving, Parenthood

 

11 responses to “You talkin’ to me?

  1. Swati

    November 9, 2010 at 8:01 am

    It going to be otay Mommy (but I wonder now if the wording on “you be so irritating” was an accident?)

    I love it :-).
    Swati

     
    • kellyozley

      November 9, 2010 at 10:41 am

      No accident my friend. That’s the way she talks — makes it hard to be tough because you are laughing. 🙂

       
  2. Marge Roate

    November 9, 2010 at 8:06 am

    As mothers we sometimes love it when other mothers remind us that the behavior of our children are normal. And then…sometimes we cringe! Welcome to being the mother of girls! Emily will tell that having one cut her own bangs causes let anxiety than when one cuts bangs of a friend; she had one of each…almost lost the friend!

     
    • kellyozley

      November 9, 2010 at 10:42 am

      How funny. I think the mommy’s friend needs to chill out. 🙂

       
  3. judy ray

    November 14, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    Well Kelly, as your mother I know I don’t have to remind you of all the fun times we had with your sister, Tracey. Landon’s latest adventure reminds me of a similar one involving your sister. One afternoon Tracey and side kick Elaine decided to play beauty shop. They were having such fun and Elaine decided to style and cut Tracey’s hair. Yes, giving her some pretty bangs. The problem is your sister already had bangs. The new bangs were up to her hair line. I couldn’t decide if I should buy a wig or strech her face. You probably don’t remember this and at the time I didn’t want to think about it but as time goes by these times become special and add humor to your life. Each day is a new adventure………Enjoy it and treasure it. Love Mom

     
  4. Kali Capps

    November 29, 2010 at 1:35 am

    My mom commented on my blog once. Your mom is way funnier. “Buy a wig or stretch her face”… lmao. Awesome.

     
  5. Kacey

    November 29, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Here from Pretty All True and I am DYING over here. “Was just too much hair, Mommy”? I about fell out of my seat. My sister had a white-blonde afro as a toddler and one day my father walked into the living room to find the coffee table covered in curls. He sent her to her room knowing my mother would punish her when she got home, but (after freaking out about the hair on the table) my mom marched upstairs, opened the bedroom door….and realized you couldn’t even tell where she had cut it. Hair that curly covers a multitude of sins.

     
    • kellyozley

      November 29, 2010 at 11:39 am

      My youngest has amazing curls. I will seriously have to hurt her sister if she gets near them. Glad you happened upon my blog and enjoyed it. It’s a crazy life.

       
  6. marketingtomilk

    November 30, 2010 at 12:23 am

    Just remember you liked the hair, before you knew who the hairdresser was…

    M2M

    over here from Pretty All True

     
    • kellyozley

      November 30, 2010 at 9:04 am

      I know … seriously thinking this may be a happy accident … a way to cut costs… just let her cut her own hair. 🙂

       
  7. TF Dragon

    May 13, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    little ones and scizzors and hair, eeks

     

Leave a Reply

 
