RSS

On Making An Entrance

04 Dec

I have no idea why this came to me…

but…

It did.

 

I was reminiscing about just stuff I guess…

While wrapping Christmas presents.

 

Time took me back to 1982…

The year my sister graduated from High School.

 

We arrive at the graduation.

Sweltering it is in Alabama.

It’s hard to look good when it’s 92 and your do…

Is really a don’t.

 

Final Net can only do so much…

Sadly…

That is not a lie.

My sister and I used to go through a can a week…

Also not a lie…

A piece…

Of Final Net.

I am sooooo sorry Ozone.

 

But you get there and you wait…

For the excitement of the graduation ceremony.

YAWN!

 

Mom is bringing her new boyfriend.

 

Everyone is filing in the high school stadium.

Conversations humming…

And then…

 

A hush.

 

Shut the front door!

JUST SHUT IT!

What the?

Sweet Lord…

This?

What's Your Sign?

 

is what he (the new boyfriend) is wearing.

Honestly?

It is not the exact same one…

but…

damn close.

I swear.

 

I think he dated Flo from Mel’s Diner before Mom.

 

 

 

 

Mom?

 

Oh…

She is mortified.

Trying to get in the witness protection program.

Cannot even maintain eye contact.

She is sort of inching away from him.

But he?

Is a big guy…

Hard to not see…

Especially in lime green.

I’m pretty sure that was the clincher for them…

what with the thick polyester and all.

I cannot control myself.

I need to leave…

Hide under something…

Like a purse…

Or bleacher.

OMG OMG OMG

It is the highlight of the entire weekend.

And just in case you are wondering…

You can still get one of these little puppies…

At a Halloween shop…

And here is the description…

2” flares / bell bottoms will swing around your platform shoes when you hit the dance floor.

Wear a big confident smile and strut your stuff proudly because you know without a doubt.

You can go anywhere in the world and never run into another guy with this suit and your dazzling personality.

That is the beauty of vintage sexy.

ROCK ON!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “On Making An Entrance

  1. Grandma Terri

    December 4, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    I remember it well. Judy was so mortified and I didn’t blame her. At least it didn’t last too long.

     
  2. Lori stefanac

    December 5, 2010 at 7:40 am

    Your writing makes me giggle. And we are talking about first thing in the morning before coffee…so this is no small feat! Thanks! By the way, I’m kinda diggin the whole lime green, polyester disco suit. Pretty hot!

     

Leave a Reply

 
