RSS

A Bad Fad

06 Jan

What in the hell?

Is the deal with Silly bandz?

I mean its madness.

I do not get this at all.

 

It's just so silly

 

 

My daughters got some for Christmas.

From their aunt…

My sister…

Hmmm.

I’ll deal with her later…

I know where she lives.

 

 

Would you like to know what they are good for?

(and yes I know I ended a sentence with a preposition… I meant to)

I am so glad you asked.

 

Clogging a vacuum.

Getting wrapped around a bathroom drain.

Acting as a cat play toy (partial value here).

Causing fights because your sister has a pink Dora band and you have a green boots band.

Firing at your 3 ½ year old neighbor.

The one who just took your baby doll.
Game on.

Taking all your mama’s money.

Cutting off  your circulation.

When you put 8 of them on your wrist.

Melting…

If left near the furnace
Which later cannot be removed from the carpet.

Or in the dryer

When your four year old leaves them in her jeans pocket.

 

Possibly?

They could be used to close a bag of chips…
If…
Your toddler would allow you to use them.

Which?
She will not.

“Because…you gonna breaks dem Mommy”

 

And really…

I don’t mean to pop anyone’s bubble here but…

They are in fact…

Rubber bands..

Glorified rubber bands in odd shapes that someone in China is making…

All the while laughing their asses off…

Thinking what a bunch of idiots we are.

 

And honestly?

They are right.

 

I am not alone here.

Even Doogie Howser agrees with me

And he is super smart.

I mean he was a doctor at like 16

 

These “bandz” rank right up there with Justin Bieber and 3D shows.

I mean why why why?

do we need either one of these.

Justin is just a little bit irritating…

he just is.

 

And 3D?

Do I really need to see body parts blown up in 3D?

or Barney?   EWWWWW!

(Not sure which of those is the scariest)

The only…

Only…

value I could see in 3D is:

George Clooney.

 

Nuff said.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2011 in Toys

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “A Bad Fad

  1. Lissa

    January 6, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Aw now, c’mon Kel: every generation needs its own ridiculous fad. Remember Pet Rocks?

     
    • kellyozley

      January 6, 2011 at 11:21 am

      Oh I know.. I would never have agreed with this when I was a tween. It’s just as the Mom cleaning these rubber deamons… you know? And please don’t even think of touching my leg warmers or mood ring. tee hee

       
  2. Lori stefanac (Lola)

    January 6, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    I love silly bandz. Before you judge me, let me tell you why. I love them because they were an incredibly STUPID idea that took off and became a monumental success. Now, every time I have a creative idea that may seem a little unorthodox (code for stupid) to others (and for some reason I have many of these) I can always say, “my idea isn’t any worse than silly bandz!”

     
    • kellyozley

      January 6, 2011 at 10:54 pm

      hahahaha. I get your point lady. I might like them to if I ever had great ideas. I have so few brain cells left these days… even a pretty good idea is out of the question.

       

Leave a Reply

 
