RSS

The Uniform

24 Jan

Today was the first day of Pre-K

And the first day of Navy and white clothing

Because?

In Pre-K

You have to wear a uniform.

 

And I am stressed

Because we are not really navy people

We?

are not sailors.

 

But these are our colors

And so it is.

 

Pink

Yes pink

Would be a great color

For our school uniform.

Because our closet looks as if a bottle of pepto bismol has exploded in it…

a big one.

 

Mom gets so irritated when I make these goofy faces

 

And so today we go

And we are dressed accordingly

I think.

 

Until I am informed that the pants should be entirely navy normally

 

Not like the jazzy navy frog pants we are sporting.

 

ARGGGH!

 

 

 

 

And I am sick.

With the stomach flu

And I would like to die…

Because I feel so bad.

 

And I could truly hurl at any moment.

Also?

How do I say this in a delicate way?

It is the stomach bug –

And does not discriminate on the path of elimination?

And while driving three times my oldest points out how bad her sister’s diaper smells

And I?

Do not feel at all compelled to claim ownership.

 

And the day passes

Mama asleep at home praying for an early death

Or the end to three days of nausea.

 

And I pick up the cherubs.

Little Miss Pre-K

Appears in her white and navy

White now Pink and Purple with stains

From painting activities.

 

And all I can think…

Is that we need more bleach.

And a housekeeper!

 

 

 

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2011 in Misbehaving, Parenting, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “The Uniform

  1. Lori stefanac (Lola)

    January 25, 2011 at 5:52 am

    I’m so sorry you are sick, but I DID lol at this post…that’s something, right? We are not navy people either. By boys wear black. All black all the time. Like a miniature death metal rock band…or a group of mini ninjas. But Navy? Seems a little too preppy for this brood.

     
    • kellyozley

      January 25, 2011 at 11:12 am

      Honestly — I love me some black. Only thing better for me is brown. I have a wardrobe of drab browns: sepia, taupe, chocolate, etc. Someone once told me I looked good in it. Uh Oh.

       

Leave a Reply

 
