RSS

Peace and Thank You

12 Jan

Today is my daughter’s birthday.

She did not get a pony!

(I am not stupid)

 

As such, I have much to do:

Find presents

(damnit)

Wrap presents

Pick the perfect pink frosting:

Pink blush

Baby pink

Fuschia tint

Pink swirl

Peachy pink

BLECCKK!

 

I am thankful that I purchased the bike…

already put together.

As if I would attempt that myself…

Given the trouble I have just changing batteries.

 

But mostly today…

I remember and am thankful for my beautiful girl.

And?

I think about the woman who changed my life.

The woman who gave me my greatest gift.

She gave birth to my daughter.

 

I think of her often…

But especially today.

I wonder where she is…

and how she is doing.

 

I pray for her.

That she has comfort.

Peace

That somehow…

On the other side of the world…

She will know.

That our girl is okay.

Better than ok…

Perfect really.

That she is safe.

That she is loved truly and beyond any expectations she could have had.

And that she did the best she could.

 

I celebrate my daughter today.

And for a little while.

I pause…

I hold this woman in my heart…

And I say thank you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in Adoption, Birth Mother, Parenthood, Parenting

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Peace and Thank You

  1. Becca

    January 12, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    That made me teary! What a beautiful post 🙂

     
    • kellyozley

      January 12, 2012 at 3:20 pm

      well…must admit… I had the tissues out while I was writing it.

       
  2. Beth

    January 12, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    I didn’t know where this would go – barbies webkinz route maybe, but Gratitude…that was unexpected and just beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

     
  3. shannon

    January 12, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    Wow. That just gave me chills. Simply beautiful and well said.

     
  4. Blair

    January 12, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    I hope Landon had a wonderful birthday! Loved the post….as an adoptee it really touched me.

     
  5. Lori

    January 12, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    And in addition to all that…I thank you! Thank you for allowing me to love your girls and be a part of your family. I am truely blessed!

     
  6. Terri Ozley

    January 13, 2012 at 5:50 am

    Grandma and Grandpa thank her too – lots of difference ways to be a mother and lots of different sacrifices made that we can all appreciate.

     
  7. Lori G

    January 14, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Oh Kelly, that was so beautiful. Landon and Tenny are very lucky to have you, and you them.
    Please give Landon a belated birthday hug from “Aunt Lori Belle”, fellow Capricorn. Love you.

     
  8. Noreen Brewster

    April 18, 2012 at 10:12 am

    I share your thoughts….what a gift these other, unknown women have given to us…as mine got older, I have had them say a prayer for their “other mother”. Love you blog….wishing you the best (which you probably already have)!

     
    • shannon

      June 5, 2012 at 7:39 am

      Teary, teary, teary. Well said girl. I am so glad that we got to spend some time together and to get to know those sweet girl’s personalities even better.

       

Leave a Reply

 
