RSS

No!

10 Mar

I remember watching women…

With their children.

In the mall.

At the market.

Getting a coffee.

Hearing

“No”

“No”

“No.”

 

I wondered.

Pondered.

Is that all they can say?

Why aren’t they enjoying motherhood?

Aren’t they happy?

 

I?

Would do this so much better.

You see.

 

Well?

Today…

Went like this?

 

 

“Mommy…

Can I have ice cream for breakfast?”

 

 “No”

 

“Mommy…

Can I paint my dolls face with you spensive lip gloss?”

 

“No”

 

“Mommy?

Will you get me a pony?”

 

“No”

 

“Mommy…

Can you find me a hands sum prince?”

 

“No”

Mommy gets a handsome prince first…

Lets be clear about that.

 

“Mommy…

Can you walks away from me…

Your mouth is tinky.”

 

“No”

What the hell?

 

“Mommy?

Can I have a sleepover at Roman’s?’

 

“NO!”

 

“Mommy?”

 

“No!

Whatever it is that you want…

Need?

Or are thinking about?

 

“NO”

“NO”

“NO”

 

“I jis wans a gives you a kiss Mommy”

 

I AM HORRIBLE!

 

So to all you Moms I judged…

I AM SO DAMN SORRY…

SAVE ME!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2012 in Bedtime, Misbehaving, Parenthood, Parenting

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “No!

  1. womom1

    March 10, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    Whew! Brought me back. So easy to pass judgment until we are in the moment ourselves! My mantra was, “No sugar-ever, no TV-ever, no toy guns-ever (& the ones fashioned from twigs-tossed), no fast food, blah, blah, blah. Thank goodness I learned about moderation & balance before I completely lost my mind! I’m hoping to find the rest of it when my son goes to college-HA! Great post.

     
  2. kierrajanay

    March 11, 2012 at 5:19 am

    Lmao I just told my mom last night I no longer have to wonder why she used to say ” you want want want want need need need and no!” lol I feel your pain

     
  3. simply.bekah

    March 12, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    Great post! I am guilty of the “no mantra” as well. Another day, another battle!! 🙂

     
  4. Janet Hale

    March 13, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    I love your bog – it cracks me up. We adopted a little boy (now 5 yrs old) from “Mdova” as he calls it, 2 1/2 years ago. I can relate on many levels. We also have a 15 yr old son, so with two that far apart and constant rough housing, I think – actually, I KNOW – I am losing my mind.

     

Leave a Reply

 
