RSS

I Beg Your Pardon?

07 Jun

I heard the words…

The words…

You?

NEVER

Want to hear.

“Your flight?

Has been delayed”

 

No….

NO….

OH HELL NO!

 

I WAS HERE ON TIME

With two

Small

Highly intolerant

Little girls.

FIND ANOTHER ONE.

Another plane!!

Beg your pardon?

 

We got here early…

To allow for McDonalds…

And potty time.

 

I was patted down by a very large woman.

Because?

My gold bangles

One twenty eighth of an inch wide…

Tripped the screening device.

They?

Are highly suspect

And dangerous?

Should I want to pierce

The captain’s larynx.

 

So we have to wait…

another hour and a half.

Girls running up and down the hall

Hide and seek under the chairs.

Throwing Gummi bears at the window.

Pushing each other in the wheelchair…

WAIT…

WHAT?

Stop that.

 

How much longer can this take?

 

We are being re-routed…

They tell me.

From Harrisburg PA

Through Charlotte

Back to Denver.

Even to me?

The geographically challenged…

This is not logical.

 

The girls are restless.

Make that little monsters.

Grinding potato chips in to the carpet…

Tossing the crumbs in the air…

Like confetti.

 

Talking.

Talking.

Talking.

 

We are talking to everyone.

The flight attendant is there.

A lady.

 

Landon says.

 “Mommy… she bees da pilot”

I am too wiped out to correct her.

 

“our plane is almost here right?”

I ask.

Plead.

 

Her smile fades.

I turn gray.

And she mouths the words …

“Two hours to me”

 

I collapse to the floor.

Spinning my wheels on potential games

And diversionary tactics.

 

Landon introduces her family.

 “I Landon d’ Nicole.

I am 5.

Dat is my baby sister.

Tennyson…

She in time out,

Again…

And dat?

Is my Mommy

Visitors?

Call her Kelly.”

 

So there I sit …

2 more hours.

Frustrated

Tired

Annoyed.

2 girls…

And me…

The visitor.

Wishing?

I WAS a visitor,

on a remote island,

where children shall not set foot.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 7, 2012 in Parenthood, Parenting, Toddler, Travel

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
