RSS

Polka Dots

15 Jun

 

You know those days

When you really have your mommy mojoe..

You have got it goin’ on.

You just know you look gorgeous?

No?

Me neither

and my daughter confirmed that.

 

As I bathed the girls,

on Tuesday,

I get complete cooperation from Tennyson

washing her hair…

putting up the water toys.

helping apply the baby lotion—

the last will take 45 minutes to clean up

 

Digressing

 

Landon is out.

feet on the bathmat.

I am ready to apply her lotion

 

“Is dat lotion for Mommy’s?”

 

“Well yes

It is Ginger Peach

From the Blue Sage spa In Breckenridge.”

 

She cares?

not a bit.

 

She stares…

pulls back.

 

“Will?

Will?

Will it make my skin look like yours?”

 

SAY what!

 

“Well ..

WHAT

IS

wrong with my skin?”

 

“NO!”

And she slips out of my hands

Uttering this stinging statement.

 

“I don’t want to has dat lotion.

It make my skin look like yours…

Yours…

is all…

like polka dots”

 

Oh no…

she di’int

I am flabbergasted.

 

“Landon?

These polka dots are…

they ARE!

freckles.”

“And?

I will have you know…

yes you little missy…

that your Grandpa says?

a girl without freckles…

is like a night without stars.

OH YES HE DID SAY THAT!”

 

Hmpf!

Pivot

Turn

Where is my cocktail?

 

 

Gorgeous!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2012 in Fashion, Misbehaving, Painting, Parenthood

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Polka Dots

  1. Jaidene Anderlini

    June 15, 2012 at 11:02 am

    Well at least she didn’t say it looked like an elephant’s butt!

     
  2. Sandra Dobbratz

    September 23, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    Kelly I love your blog on polka dots…made me think about the time a young friend of Hans told his Mom that he wanted sparkles like his friend Hans! You are amazing and oh so funny. Love, Sandy

     

Leave a Reply

 
