RSS

Thank you!

20 Feb

This is a repost… sort of … I posted something similar last year on Landon’s birthday.

 

Today is my daughter’s Birthday.

Tennyson is 4.

We did it,

we made it to 4.

Tennyson is:

Busy

Funny

Independent

Caring

Tough

 

As it is her birthday, I have much to do:

Find presents

(damnit)

Wrap presents

Pick the perfect pink frosting:

Pink blush

Baby pink

Fuschia tint

Pink swirl

Peachy pink

BLECCKK!

 

When I asked Tenny what she wanted for her birthday,

she said “Mommy’s chapstick”

Oh hell no..

not my Fresh Sugar Balm.

Get some today!

Get some today!

 

If you haven’t tried it…

Do.

Today.

It is great.

Plum is my favorite — just a hint of color.

Honey — more pigment.

White one is the perfect lip treatment.

But at 22.00 a pop…

she?

is getting blistex.

 

I am thankful I am done

Card

Cake

Gifts.

Yea!

 

But mostly today…

I remember and am thankful for my beautiful girl.

And?

I think about the woman who changed my life.

 

The woman who gave me my greatest gift.

She gave birth to my daughter.

I think of her often…

But especially today.

I wonder where she is…

and how she is doing.

I pray for her.

That she has comfort.

Peace

That somehow…

On the other side of the world…

She will know.

That our girl is okay.

Better than ok…

Perfect really.

That she is safe.

That she is loved truly and beyond any expectations she could have had.

And that she did the best she could.

I celebrate my daughter today.

 

And for a little while.

 

I pause…

 

I hold this woman in my heart…

 

And I say thank you.

Tenny-lou... I love you.

Tenny-lou… I love you.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2013 in Adoption, Birth Mother, Parenthood, Parenting

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Thank you!

  1. Shan

    February 20, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    Always gives me goosebumps! Happy Birthday Tenny! And happy day to you too Mama!

     
  2. Marilyn

    February 20, 2013 at 2:21 pm

    Brings tears to my eyes – I feel the same way about Ellery’s birthmother but could never say it so well. Happy Birthday Tenny – 4 indeed! Wow.

     
  3. Lori

    February 20, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    I love you more Tenny! Enjoyed talking with you tonight. Look forward to talking to you tomorrow night. You are my favorite Monkey Doodle and hold a special place in my heart!

     
  4. Terri Ozley

    February 21, 2013 at 4:52 am

    I am so lucky to have you as a daughter who gave me such a funny, cute and exasperating granddaughter…just make sure the blistex is pink! I love you.

     
  5. Danielle Hampton

    February 21, 2013 at 8:00 am

    I may have to borrow your words and make them my own. I haven’t even been matched yet, but I feel the same way already! Happy birthday to your little angel!

     
  6. judy ray aka Kelly's mom and Ju Ju grandmother to these special little girls.

    February 25, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Happy Birthday Miss Tenny. Grandma Ju Ju loves you more. you have a wonderful mother who makes every day very special for you. If she could only keep you in lip gloss. Grandma will have to work on that. How about a Christmas stocking full of lip gloss. I love you Tenny POO (sorry I am not suppose to say that.) Ju Ju

     

Leave a Reply

 
