RSS

Can I hear an AMEN?

14 Mar

My favorite part of the weekday

Is

Around 9:00 p.m.

Both girls are in bed,

Asleep.

I can see them,

Covered up,

And quiet.

Not asking for anything

Not fighting

 

So I sit…

With my nirvana..

A hefty glass of red wine.

 

Normally I pretty much collapse,

at this point.

 

But tonight I can’t stop giggling

BECAUSE

As I was putting Landon in her bunk bed

Tennyson beneath us …

With the slow and steady hum of near sleep

Landon shares a story.

 

“Mommy…

Peyton’s Mommy jis had a baby…

It was in her tummy

And da doctor took it out with a big knife.

She cried,

Because it hurts to have a knife in your tummy.”

I guess it does.

Where does she get this stuff?

 

“Oh…

when you grow up would you like to be a Mommy?”

 

Wrinkling the forehead…

Noodling…

“Well”

(Sigh)

“I don’t know Mommy…

I be so scaried of da hospital…

And then you have dese kids…

And they jis run around and don’t even listen to you.”

GASP

 

And from below…

Tennyson not yet fully asleep must contribute:

“yes…

she right Mommy…

we not listen.”

GASP

to the second power.

I am so totally ignoring you Mom.

I am so totally ignoring you Mom.

 

Can I hear an AMEN from the Mom-gregation?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Can I hear an AMEN?

  1. Kenja

    March 14, 2013 at 2:46 pm

    So much for “they know not what they do!” I guess they do know! Landon and Tennyson are such sweet names for such impish children! 🙂

    Great post! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! I thought I’d return the favor and I’m glad I did!

     

Leave a Reply

 
