RSS

The Morning Commute… A Perfect Moment

09 Jun

I waited 40 years to be a mom  (okay actually over 40 but.. who is counting?)  I did it.  I have 2 girls.  I adopted two girls from a foreign country, Moldova.  My dream is in front of me.  One has a snotty nose, the other has just sprung a leak in her new dress.  We are late, late for school – of course we are.

I have slept 3.5 hours because my younger daughter, 5 weeks home from Moldova, is still quite off schedule and somewhat frightened by the US conditions (not to mention two cats, one very busy sister and a high strung mom).  My older daughter is also up every 3 hours too– because she is suffering from the anxiety of sharing the throne.

We make it to the car.  Older child is buckled in her carseat, after a fight over where her white purse is with the party lip gloss (why does she have/need lip gloss at 3… I am sure 10  years of intensive therapy will clear that all up).  Child number two is in her carseat and safe.  Screaming she is…. she hates carseats and why not… in her country, they do not use them.  Its all good they are safe… and me…. well  I have child #2’s poop under my thumb nail, oatmeal on my butt and toast crumbs in my hair.   I am wiped out… totally exhausted.  I want to cry…. actually I think I am crying.

And the perfect moment…. a giggle, two giggles…. I look in the rear view mirror and the girls are laughing and holding hands.  They have been sisters 5 weeks now, only 5 weeks… you would never know the newness of it all…. My tears now are coming from a different spot.  Oatmeal, poop and all…we are perfect.   Go to Weebles Wobblog (http://weebleswobblog.com/2010/06/perfect-moment-monday-work-and-play.html) for more Perfect Moment Mondays.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “The Morning Commute… A Perfect Moment

  1. Ellen

    June 10, 2010 at 5:26 am

    Love this…I can totally picture the girls holding hands & laughing. Makes everything right with the world!

     
  2. Lori Lavender Luz

    June 13, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    I love that amid all that chaos, all that which some might see as imperfect, you see that moment of connection and fulfillment.

    Beautiful, Kelly.

    I put your link onto Perfect Moment Mondays for this week. Welcome!

     
  3. Robin

    June 13, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    How sweet. Sisters for life. That is a perfect moment.

     
  4. Delenn

    June 14, 2010 at 9:19 am

    What a perfect moment and so true in all of it. Made me tear up just thinking of it.

     
  5. Kir

    June 14, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Oh wow, Those tears (Mine) came fast and hard. They burned my eyes. Because being the mom of twin boys who are 2.5 is frustrating and HARD and you never know when their fights will turn into LOVE for one another.

    YOU did indeed have a perfect moment…a perfect life for sure. THANKS for sharing this, it made my day!

     
  6. Sheri

    June 14, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I am visiting from http://www.weebleswobblog.com and participating in Perfect Moment Monday.

    I have three boys (who are very close in age) and can remember the ages when they were in car seats, poop under my nails (and possibly other places), and being up every three hours. And, of course, crying out of sheer frustration and sleep deprivation.

    And yet…I believe the kind of Perfect Moment you described above is a gift from above to help us remember (above all of the other stuff), how very important it is to love kids through it all.

    Thanks for sharing your Perfect Moment!

     
  7. Marilyn

    June 25, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    LOVE THIS…am starting to think LRE is going to need a sister

     

Leave a comment